Liturgesy

Hattip to Father Z. Father Z has coined a new word called Liturgesy.  The meaning of the word is heresy expressed as liturgy.  The unintentionally hilarious performance above is from the Los Angeles Archdiocese’s annual three day education conference dubbed by critics the three days of darkness for its fondness for featuring heretical speakers.

Catholicism of course is centered around the Mass.  It speaks very ill of our age that we allow these clownish farces to deface our central act of worship. Past time to put an end to this madness.  For those with a fondness for this type of bizarre do it yourself liturgy, I am certain that they will be welcomed with open arms by their true spiritual home: Unitarian-Universalism!

16 Responses to Liturgesy

  1. I actually was at one of these when I was 14 or so — my parish’s confirmation class was taking a bunch of teens, and since I was attempting to make a good impression on the catechist’s daughter, I went along. (Things with the girl didn’t work out any better than with the conference.)

    I remember a priest who gave a talk on sexuality during which he argued that “making love” should be a term used for all positive human interactions. “We should all make love every day,” was his shock line. (Given what we’ve since found out about LA Archdiocese, perhaps he meant this more literally than we high schoolers realized.)

    I also remember letting fly a storm of paper airplanes from the top balcony of the convention center.

    And some woman singing “Wind Beneath My Wings” as the “communion meditation”. (Did you ever know that you’re my heeeeeeroooooooooo…)

  2. Tito Edwards says:

    Which one is the Religious Education Conference?

    😉

  3. Tito Edwards says:

    I think I saw Michael Iafrate sitting in the stands, err, congregation.

  4. Christina says:

    Give them a little bit of a break on the setting, Tito. There isn’t anyplace nearby that holds that many people. Unless you would prefer the Crystal Cathedral… 🙂

  5. Don the Kiwi says:

    And so that’s Mass LA style?

    It just looks like an evangelical pop culture rave up.

    God forbid that abomination gets any more legs – it would be cut off at the knees down here – even by our more liberal brethren. ( I hope) 😦

  6. Donald R. McClarey says:

    “I also remember letting fly a storm of paper airplanes from the top balcony of the convention center.”

    That was probably the most constructive reaction to the experience!

  7. Donald R. McClarey says:

    “It just looks like an evangelical pop culture rave up.”

    Precisely Don!

  8. Robert says:

    God help us… Now I have a sudden urge to punch a puppet… Sheesh next thing I will have muppet nightmares.

  9. j. christian says:

    “It just looks like an evangelical pop culture rave up.”

    Actually, there’s more of a sense of internal consistency to an evangelical service. Catholics don’t do Protestant very well.

  10. Clay says:

    I thought that was a joke; I ‘m watching this and I was so convinced that no one could ever be that ridiculous, that I thought it was a joke. Then the audience/congregation (does it deserve to be called a congregation?) laughed. I recognized the laughter as church laughter; yes the large group of old women cackling when they belived it was quasi-desired, and a slightly smaller number of other attendees forcing out sycophantic guffaws, so they don’t feel ruder than the old ladies.
    You think that vanilla is the best flavor, and I think bubble gum is? You are both wrong; you’re not both right. There is no best flavor! There are personal favorites, so vanilla is my favorite flavor, and if you tell me it’s not, then you are… WRONG. You moral relativists couldn’t even pick an anology that was accurate! I think I’m going to puke.

  11. Nate Wildermuth says:

    There’s nothing wrong with that liturgy, even if the style isn’t traditional.

    What is wrong, I think, is succumbing to liturgical self-righteousness. I don’t blame anyone for falling into that liturgical arrogance. I know you all have beautiful hearts and earnestly seek to worship God faithfully. But realize that the things you saw in the video also reflect beautiful hearts earnestly seeking to worship God faithfully. But for the grace of God, you might be worshiping in the same manner. And moreover, you yourselves may be worshiping poorly too, and not know it. So might I. We ought to pray for the grace to know how to worship God in spirit and truth, and not simply according to the creations of man.

  12. Tito Edwards says:

    Nate,

    The clergy that are “celebrating” these Mass’ are leading the faithful astray.

    I lost count on the number of liturgical abuses at the get-go.

    Rather a millstone…

  13. Donald R. McClarey says:

    “But realize that the things you saw in the video also reflect beautiful hearts earnestly seeking to worship God faithfully.”

    Nah, I’d say it is the dreary outcome of a do-it-yourself process to the liturgy.

    “But for the grace of God, you might be worshiping in the same manner.”

    Not a chance for me Nate. I find it hard to worship when I am bursting out laughing.

    “And moreover, you yourselves may be worshiping poorly too, and not know it.”

    Unfortunately for me Nate I fear that is usually the case due to my sinfulness and frivolous turn of mind, but I fear participating in a “bozo” liturgy would only increase my frivolous turn of mind.

    “We ought to pray for the grace to know how to worship God in spirit and truth”

    We already know how to do that through the Mass Nate. Participating in the Mass worthily is however the problem, at least my problem.

  14. Nate Wildermuth says:

    My problem, too, unfortunately.

  15. tour86rocker says:

    What do you get when you cross a Unitarian Universalist with a Jehovah’s Witness?

    Someone who knocks on your door for no particular reason

