Jane Austen’s Fight Club

I knew I missed some interesting items when I couldn’t keep awake reading Sense and Sensiblity!

8 Responses to Jane Austen’s Fight Club

  1. Tito Edwards says:

    There is actually a good movie based on Sense and Sensibility by the same name.

    Came out in 1995 and directed by Ang Lee.

    It was great!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sense_and_Sensibility_%28film%29

  2. Mike Petrik says:

    Agree, Tito. I can appreciate why many gents don’t prefer Austin, but I for one greatly enjoy her novels and agree that the 1995 movie was first rate.

  3. The recent BBC adaptation of Sense and Sensibility was quite good too — I’d say probably better then that 1995 Emma Thompson one.

  4. Mike Petrik says:

    DC,
    I enjoyed them both and consider it a close call.

  5. c matt says:

    My wife is such a huge Austen fan – she has to see this!

  6. Indeed, I enjoyed both as well. (Also a male Austen fan.) I think my favorite film adaptation of an Austen novel was the 1995 Persuasion.

    Though, nonetheless, my wife and I got a big laugh out of this last night.

  7. Anthony says:

    Love it. Both Jane Austen pure and Jane Austen parody (Fight Club, zombies, etc.)

  8. Tito Edwards says:

    Persuasion… next on my Netflix.

    Along with the BBC version of Sense and Sensibility.

