Introduction

I am very grateful to the blogging coalition that is The American Catholic for allowing me to come aboard. Before I begin contributing to the blog, I thought I would write a few words to introduce myself.

I am not new to Catholic blogging, but I have been away from it for well over a year now. I started blogging back in 2005 with my then girlfriend, now wife, Katerina, at Evangelical Catholicism. Kat and I later teamed up with a number of other Catholic bloggers to launch Vox Nova, where I stayed until 2009. It appears I am the third Vox Nova alumnus to join TAC, and it’s nice to be in good company.

I am a thirty-something married Catholic with my first child on the way. I have a few degrees in theology and philosophy. I used to teach Latin and religion at a small Catholic school and have since returned to graduate study. I perceive a strong call to the diaconate, though this is something I am still working out with the Lord. I am not one who puts much stock in terms like “traditional” or “modern” or “progressive” when it comes to talking about Catholicism. I think St. Josemaría Escrivá and Ven. Dorothy Day exemplify what it means to be a Catholic in our present day and their writings are a constant source of spiritual insight and conviction.

Politically, I suppose I am centrist with a slight lean towards the left. I am pretty sure I can still be pushed the other direction. Catholic doctrine is the foundation of my political thinking, and I believe that there can be and ought to be much more agreement among Catholics on both general moral/social principles and actual policy making when the Church’s teaching remains central.

Thanks to the TAC bloggers and to the TAC readers for having me!

19 Responses to Introduction

  1. rusty says:

    MJ, it’s good to you blogging again.

  2. ron chandonia says:

    Excellent! I used to enjoy your posts on Vox Nova, and after you left, I noticed that that very promising blog seemed to take an increasingly partisan, even stridently partisan turn. It seems to me that American Catholic itself needs greater balance, and I am confident the balanced perspective you bring will fall well within the boundaries of fidelity to the letter and spirit of Catholic teaching.

  3. Zach says:

    MJ, good to have you here.

    “I believe that there can be and ought to be much more agreement among Catholics on both general moral/social principles and actual policy making when the Church’s teaching remains central.”

    This is great motivation and I totally agree.

  4. Donald R. McClarey says:

    Congrats MJ on the first child!

  5. RL says:

    Indeed, congratulations!

  6. Joe Hargrave says:

    In spite of our differences, allow me to welcome you aboard. It’s a pretty broad tent we have here.

  7. Tito Edwards says:

    We joyously welcome MJ to this coalition of bloggers!

    We are a broad tent which should reflect our Catholic faith. We as Catholics agree on everything the Church teaches, but not everything is dogma.

    Here is where we have great intellectual and fruitful debates that fleshes out the great patrimony that is the Church.

  8. Welcome, MJ. Good to have you onboard.

  9. Foxfier says:

    I am a thirty-something married Catholic with my first child on the way.

    Congratulations!

    Are you going to cheat so you know what color scheme to go? ^.^

  10. Foxfier says:

    I believe that there can be and ought to be much more agreement among Catholics on both general moral/social principles and actual policy making when the Church’s teaching remains central.

    Not sure if you’re a Star Trek fan, but it reminds me of a scene….
    A very idealistic, good-hearted character has just told an alien friend the story of the Boy who Cried Wolf, and ends with the classic: “and you know what the moral of the story was?” type thing– the alien pegs the moral as “never tell the same lie twice.”

    ;^p

  11. I am a thirty-something married Catholic with my first child on the way. I have a few degrees in theology and philosophy

    Alas, now I can no longer pretend to be knowledgeable in those fields lest I be called out.

    Glad to have you on board!

  12. jonathanjones02 says:

    MJ,

    Glad you are here. I hope we will be able to discuss political philosophy once again, although the format is not nearly as good as personal interaction.

    And congratulations again on the child!!!

  13. Dale Price says:

    Welcome–and congrats on your impending one! Being a father is the adventure of a lifetime.

    And I’m using the classical definition of “adventure:” someone else in deep doo-doo, far, far away.

    🙂

  14. Gary Keith Chesterton says:

    Nice to see you again.

  15. Nate Wildermuth says:

    Congrats on fatherhood, MJ!

    About blogging, the blogosphere is about as healthy and addictive as crack cocaine. Which I why I inevitably come back for more, though thank Jesus, now only in small read-only doses. God bless and protect you!

