Weekend Baroque

As a part of my ongoing effort to revive reinforce the dominant Western Euro-centric clerical patriarchy paradigm, and of course, to ensure the triumph of Catholic fascism everywhere, here is some Baroque music for your weekend. This time I am not going with the big three (Vivaldi, Handel, Bach), but with some equally enjoyable composers.

1. Tomaso Albinoni – Concerto a cinque for strings in E minor, Op. 2 No. 4

2. Georg Phillipp Telemann – Concerto for Viola in G Major, TWV 51

3. Arcangelo Corelli – “La Folia” Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 5 No. 12

6 Responses to Weekend Baroque

  1. Joe Hargrave says:

    Of course, I do tend to forget whether we’re liberals or fascists here. We can’t be conservatives of course, because the true conservatives are all at Vox Nova.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Beautiful. Nice choices. I knew there was a reason I read this blog! Frequent doses of Euro-centric, patriarchal clericalism help to balance out the culturally relativistic, post-structuralist feminism I’m forced to endure all day.

    Wait, does that make us Taliban Catholics?

  3. Karl says:

    Nice pieces of music.

    Liked them all.

  4. Blackadder says:

    Telemann is one of my favorites. I am not familiar with Tomaso Albinoni, but the piece here was excellent.

  5. Joe Hargrave says:

    All of Albinoni’s concerti a cinque are great.

    It’s sort of sad that he’s mostly associated with a piece that he didn’t even write, the famous adagio in G.

  6. Mark DeFrancisis says:

    Nice choices for a Baroque weekend, Joe!

