Tea Party Barbie!

Thursday, April 15, 2010 \PM\.\Thu\.

Hattip to Kathryn Lopez at NRO.  I would advise Priestess Barbie to stay out of her way.


The Tea Party and Social Conservatives

Thursday, April 15, 2010 \PM\.\Thu\.

Hattip to my friend Paul Zummo, the Cranky Conservative.  When asked what type of conservative I am, I have usually responded “just conservative”.  Like most conservatives I know, I am conservative on social issues, fiscal policies and foreign policy.  When one part of conservatism is ignored in a political race, electoral disaster often looms.  That is why I embrace completely what my fellow Illinoisan, Paul Mitchell said in a recent speech:

Read the rest of this entry »


Looking into the Cloudy Ball

Thursday, April 15, 2010 \AM\.\Thu\.

Tax day is a day when all Americans are reminded about the importance of politics and think about the importance of the political future so they can adjust their budgets accordingly. Most of the time in politics we have a reasonably good idea of what’s going on: what the issues are going to be, who the favorites in the next election are, who are the main blocs, etc. Of course, there are always surprises and upsets.

Read the rest of this entry »


Happy Tax Day!

Thursday, April 15, 2010 \AM\.\Thu\.

It takes me approximately eight hours each year to prepare my federal and state income tax returns.  This does not take into consideration the quarterly estimated payments I make which probably take 20 minutes each.  After a long and frustrating day preparing a fairly complicated tax return, I, Union loving Don McClarey, often end the day as I am writing the check to the Federal government by playing the song below: Read the rest of this entry »


Tax Man Max

Thursday, April 15, 2010 \AM\.\Thu\.

From School House Rock.  A celebration of taxes on Tax Day!  Don’t you feel better?  Actually, neither do I.