I Give Up, Here’s a Links Round-up

Friday, June 18, 2010 \PM\.\Fri\.

“The Vatican” endorses the Blues Brothers.

North Korea embraces neoliberalism (baby steps).

Matt Yglesias is my kind of liberal.

The Onion channels Bertolt Brecht.

Israel further loosens border restrictions with Gaza.

A lot of people seems to think this is good news for Afghanistan. Have they never heard of the resource curse?

The menace of friendship. Paging Eve Tushnet.


Is Robert E. Lee Overrated?

Friday, June 18, 2010 \AM\.\Fri\.

Paul Zummo, the Cranky Conservative, and I run a blog on American History:  Almost Chosen People.  Yesterday Paul raised the question:  Is Robert E. Lee Overrated?

Yeah, the post title is somewhat deliberately provocative, but it’s also meant to be a serious question that I hope will spark some discussion.  I was going to ask it in the comments to Donald’s post below, but thought it might be useful fodder for debate in its own right.

Read the rest of this entry »


I’ve Always Suspected Most Politicians Are Zombies

Friday, June 18, 2010 \AM\.\Fri\.

From the only reliable source of news on the net, the Onion.  Zombie Reagan?  Well, I’d certainly rather vote for a dead cat than Obama!

In the interests of bi-partisanship, it is apparently not only the Republicans who may be relying on  zombies.  In Illinois, we know that the dead have been voting for decades in Cook county!

Since I am a Republican, I will give the late Bob Hope the last word on zombies and politics.