Capital Punishment And Abortion, An Argument From Doubt

Sunday, May 3, 2009 \PM\.\Sun\.

I think we all have, if we are fortunate, a few good friends with religious and political viewpoints very different from our own with whom we regularly hold long discussions. For me, one of these is an uncle of mine. My mom is the oldest of seven, so this uncle is actually only fifteen years older than I am. He’s a long lapsed Catholic (he describes himself as believing in God but having no religion), a comic book and movie buff, an independent rocker, and someone who thinks a lot about the meaning of life, though he does so from a very different perspective than I do.

A few months back, my uncle was telling me about how he’d recently become pro-life (or anti-abortion, for those who ride the hobby horse of not being willing to accept the common use of the term.) His reason, he said, was basically the same as the reason he’d come to oppose capital punishment a few years before.

Read the rest of this entry »


If the Government Was In Charge of Computer Tech Development—

Sunday, May 3, 2009 \AM\.\Sun\.

Hattip to Patrick Madrid.